Skip to content

Please Help I am Crowdfunding for my Tuition for SCAD!

August 7, 2014

I am trying to think of any way to pay for my tuition to SCAD (Savannah College of Art and Design) towards my Degree in Television Production.  I have decided to use GoFundMe 

Please Help Me Get To Scad!

I was accepted into the Television Production Program at the Savannah College of Art and Design in Atlanta, Georgia. Http://www.scad.edu. I was accepted to this amazing school– that did award me with a lot of scholarship and grant money- but I just can’t afford the rest of the tuition. The SCADtelevision production Program has its own television studio, which was previously owned by an affiliate news station in Atlanta. They have television festivals that have panels with cast and crew from shows like The Vampire Diaries. The school also hosts the Savannah Film Festival and even had Lee Daniels, the Oscar nominated director of “The Butler” speak at commencement. While going through the 4 month process of waiting to see if I was accepted, I was making my plans to spend a semester at their Campus in Lacoste, France. A semester in Hong Kong. Not being able to go after I‘ve been dreaming about what my life will be like over the next 10 years, now, it feels like I’ve been punched in the face. I want to get my degree and then I want to work for Marvel or DC Films in television and I do want to be a show runner one day. I don’t want to cut in line, I just want a fair shot at getting there. 

You are probably wondering why I should be deserving of your help. I am 34 years old and a single mom, I had my son when I was 17 so I didn’t have the “college” experience; I’ve never lived in a dorm or done anything like this, and I never thought I would want it. But I really do! I am tremendously proud of my son, and of the man he is turning out to be and his academic and athletic prowess that insured he is going to have that college experience without the woes of student loans or even having to have a job while he is in college. I’ve done the hard work as a mom and I did a great job! Now I want to have an education and a career that I LOVE!. 

SCAD is expensive, there is no doubt about it. With a 91% placement rate after graduation, the quality education, networking and experience you gain it’s worth every penny. I just can’t afford to accept my, own, acceptance letter. Even though I have $24,000 worth of scholarship and grant money. Cost of attendance is roughly $55,000. That is $33,795 tuition and around $13,000 for Housing and Meal Plan. $7,284 for books and supplies and general living for the entire year. That seems like a low number to me, I mean, that’s gas and anything not university related, that’s not going to movies and having fun money. So $55,000 is pretty bare bones.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

